Creamy Chipotle Mushrooms

I picked up some really good chipotle powder at The Chocolate Festival (who were apparently selling more than just chocolate) the other week, and had been trying to think of uses for it beyond mexican food when I remembered a really good creamy chipotle mushroom dish I had at The Gate when I was reviewing it for BitchBuzz last year.

Theirs consisted of a variety of wild mushrooms in a creamy, smoky sauce that pissed on the average mushroom stroganoff that induces a collective sigh from vegetarians everywhere, so was definitely worth trying to recreate.

I am quite a fan of lemon with mushrooms, so I added lemon zest to the frying mushrooms, which cut through the richness of the smoky chilli and creamy sauce nicely. This also seemed a perfect opportunity to use some of the wild garlic leaves I got my hands on the other week, and they did indeed work a treat.

I hate to be a back-patting twat, but the finished dish was amazing – one of those mmmm with every bite, could eat it all over again as soon as you’re finished, so I urge you to give it a go.

I served it with brown rice as I thought it needed the hearty chew that you don’t get with white rice. It would also make a particularly decadent topping for steak.

Recipe after the jump…

Ingredients (serves 2)

400g of nice mushrooms (I was subject to New Cross Sainsburys’ shit choice so used field mushrooms, but a variety of wild would be best) roughly chopped

1/2 a tub of crème fraiche

zest of 1 lemon

A good grinding of black pepper

1 teaspoon of chipotle powder or 1 tablespoon of chipotle paste

1 small handful of wild garlic leaves, finely chopped

1/2 a red onion sliced

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 generous dash of white wine

Directions

Heat the oil in a nice, thick-bottomed frying pan and sautee the mushrooms, onion and lemon zest for 10-15mins until nicely softened. Season with lots of black pepper.

Stir in the chipotle, followed by the wine and simmer rapidly for a couple of mins to burn off the booze.

Stir in the crème fraiche and garlic leaves and heat gently for a couple of mins to heat the sauce through and allow the garlic to wilt. Serve with brown or wild rice.

3 Responses to “Creamy Chipotle Mushrooms”

  1. Lizzie Says:

    It looks delicious – is that spring onion as well on yours? I love wild garlic.

    • laurafleur Says:

      It is spring onion, should prob have mentioned that really. Thought they may be superfluous though, threw them on because I have shitloads!

      Wild garlic is amazing isn’t it, keep wanting to put it in everything.

  2. Silas Says:

    Yes will definitely try this. I’m a big fan of the tinned chipotle peppers you can get in adobo sauce, sounds like this won’t taste that similar though. I’ve never used wild garlic either..

Leave a Reply

