Cambodian Curry-Round 2

I don’t know about you, but I like to see my recipes as works in progress, there is always a moderation or adaptation that can be made to make another equally, if not more delicious dish. Writing about my cack-handed Cambodian curry yesterday left me with a hankering for something spicy so I returned to the recipe to see where I could make it even better, resulting in a vibrantly yellow pork and pineapple curry (don’t knock it till you’ve tried it).

This time I added a teaspoon of turmeric to the paste to add colour and further depth to the flavour, and I used half the amount of coconut milk so that it was thicker and more saucey, as opposed to light and soupy like the last one. I fancied pork over chicken and the robust flavour of the meat stood well with the fragrant, spicy paste rather than simply acting as a receptacle for the sauce.

I am a huge fan of fruit in savoury food (with the time I had glacier cherry in a curry in some restaurant in Kentish Town being an exception), and I’m pretty sure ol’ Rick Stein used pineapple when he was cooking a similar dish, and with Best One my oyster, it would have been rude not to throw a few pineapple chunks in. Needless to say, they worked a treat – like an exotic sweet and sour alongside the fish sauce! Long stem broccoli went in because I have loads, but any veg would do.

Recipe as before, with a teaspoon of turmeric in the paste, half the coconut milk, defo pork and pineapple thrown in with the veg.

2 Responses to “Cambodian Curry-Round 2”

  1. Siany Says:

    Heh. Looking at the picture gave me immediate curry craving.

  2. Silas Says:

    If you find the pineapple + coconut combo too cloying, try substituting half coconut milk with a clean chicken stock (blanch the carcass multiple times and remove as much soft tissue as possible). I found this improved my thai massaman curry (also containing pineapple and coconut milk) quite a bit, without making it taste wet.

    Looks good anyway.

Leave a Reply

