What we did on our holidays…

For the past ten days I have been loafing about on the Costa Blanca and as well as taking in the spectacular views of the San Miguel de Salinas mountains, I’ve quaffed a fair bit of the mountain’s fizzy namesake too (well, actually Estrella’s Murcia variety, but givvus a bit of poetic license here).

You’ve got to admire a country that sells its jamon by the leg in your average supermarket where you can also pick up a couple of 50cent cans of Mahou for the beach, and of course, I not only embraced these fine Spanish traditions fully, but captured them on hipstamatic*, oh yes…

The aforementioned jamon. I couldn’t tell you the variety as my limited Spanish meant I acquired it through pointing at the impressive deli in the local supermarket, but I can tell you that it was so dark it had obviously been matured forevs and was delicious. All for about 2.50euros for 200g. Put that in your pipe and smoke it, Fernandez and Wells.

Speaking of supermarket bargains, a load of fresh squid for less than 2euros? Yes please! Fried it up with chilli, garlic and a good squeeze of fresh lime before piling onto watercress and drizzling with the spicy oil from the pan. Oh yes.

I don’t care if it makes me a tourist, at a beach-side restaurant in Spain, I WILL eat Paella, and this one was clams, prawns, mussels and squid galore.

Are prawns more satisfying when you’ve had to prize the poor bastard from its shell? I don’t know, but hey, it makes a good picture, and adds to the whole tourist, novelty lark.

Gratuitous bread shot. This was especially fresh and tasty, and I was lost in the snapping moment.

Ahh Alioli. You may say this is just garlic mayonnaise, but simply that it aint. The use of vast quantities of fresh raw garlic is something else, and the fact that it’s just dropped on the table accompanied by the previously pictured bread with every order of ‘dos cerveza’ is pretty inspired.

My Dad has created a booze selection to rival Alan Carr’s ‘Chatty Man’ globe at the parental holiday home, so it would have been rude not to introduce cocktail hour whilst en vacance. This ‘espresso’ (or leftover filter coffee, whichevs) martini became a daily favourite.

And before you say, ‘what of the chorizo?’, ‘what of the tapas?’, much of it was wolfed down before the old iphone camera had even been opened, and the rest, I’m saving for some recipe posts once I have worked out how to make it.

*I promise the people who developed the hipstamatic app are not sponsoring me. I just ❤ it so.

One Response to “What we did on our holidays…”

  1. Isabelle Says:

    I want to go on hols with you!

Leave a Reply

